ABS-CBN Wins Big in the 21st KBP Golden Dove Awards; 32 Awards Received!

ABS-CBN swept a total of 32 trophies at the recent 21st Golden Dove Awards of the Kapisanan ng Broadkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) including Best TV station and top honors for ABS-CBN president and CEO Charo Santos-Concio, who was awarded with the KBP Lifetime Achievement Award, and broadcast journalist Ted Failon, who was named the Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year.

The Golden Dove Awards recognized Concio’s significant contributions to the advancement of broadcast media and for demonstrating high standard of excellence and professionalism.

"It is humbling to be part of the roster of the KBP Lifetime Achievement Awardees. I would like to thank Gabby Lopez and the hardworking men and women of ABS-CBN. I just wanted to be a good storyteller like my father and my job allows me to be one," Santos-Concio said.

Failon, meanwhile, was chosen as the Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year Award for showing exemplary performance his work and personal conduct. The said award is named after the late Teodoro Valencia, one of the earliest and respected leaders of the KBP in 1960’s.

ABS-CBN ruled the news and current affairs categories with “TV Patrol” recognized as the Best TV Newscast Program, “Patrol ng Pilipino" as Best TV Public Affairs Program for its “Sa Ilalim ng Tulay: Hagupit ng Habagat” episode, "Sports Unlimited" as Best TV Sports Program, "Rated K" as Best TV Magazine Program, and ABS-CBN’s documentary on “San Pedro Calungsod” as Best Documentary Program.

Anchor Korina Sanchez was also recognized as the Best TV Magazine Program Host for "Rated K," Bernadette Sembrano as Best TV Public Service Host award for "Salamat Dok," while Anthony Taberna won as the Best TV Public Affairs Program Host.

ABS-CBN's entertainment programs also had its share of accolades from the prestigious award giving body. The country’s longest drama anthology “Maalaala Mo Kaya” was awarded the Best TV Drama Program for its controversial “Pulang Laso” episode, which tells the story of bisexual lovers portrayed by Carlo Aquino and Joem Bascon.

Saturday night sitcom "Toda Max," meanwhile was named Best Comedy Program, while "Wansapanataym" was the Best TV Children's Program. Popstar Princess Sarah Geronimo’s weekly concert program, "Sarah G Live" meanwhile, was hailed the Best Musical Variety Program.

Gerald Anderson bagged the Best Actor Award for his promising lead role in “Budoy,” while Janice De Belen won Best Actress for her role in the teleserye “Ina Kapatid Anak.”

ABS-CBN's Christmas Station ID "Lumiliwanag Ang Mundo sa Kwento ng Pasko" got the Best TV Station PromotionalMaterials, and "Choose Philippines Penumbra" won Best TV Public Service Announcement Award.

DZMM, on the other hand, also won big from the said award-giving body as it was named the Best AM Radio Station. DZMM programs also bagged several recognitions such as Best Radio Newscast Program ("Radyo Patrol Balita Alas-Siyete"), Best Radio Public Affairs Program ("Failon Ngayon sa DZMM"), and Best Radio Sports Program ("Sports Talk").

Julius Babao is this year’s Best Radio Newscaster for "Radyo Patrol Balita Alas-Dose." Other DZMM anchors also bagged trophies namely Karen Davila for Best Radio Public Affairs Program Host ("Pasada 630"), Winnie Cordero for Best Radio Magazine Host ("Todo-Todo Walang Preno"), and Ka Louie Tabing for Best Radio Science and Technology Program Journalist ("Sa Kabukiran").

Aside from the prestigious Best Provincial TV Station award given to for ABS-CBN Cagayan de Oro, ABS-CBN Regional NetworkGroup bagged other awards such as the Best Provincial TV Newscast Program  for ABS-CBN Cagayan de Oro's "TV Patrol Central Mindanao," Best Public Affairs Provincial Program for ABS-CBN Cagayan de Oro's "T.K.O," Best TV Special Program  for ABS-CBN Butuan's "SILIB: Balangay Festival Special Edition," and Best Culture and Arts Program for ABS-CBN Baguio's "Mag-TV na, Atin Ito!"

The Golden Dove Awards is held annually by the country’s broadcast media association KBP, where winners are chosen from the association’s members by independent jurors representing the youth, academe, religious groups, advertising industry, and government. (www.tvseriescraze.blogspot.com)

Post a Comment