The 38TH Gawad Urian Awards Night Airs Live on Cinema One this June 16

Cinema One is bringing to television screens the live airing of the 38th Gawad Urian where the brightest and most talented artists from Philippine cinema come together in celebration of the best performances and movies of the previous year this Tuesday (June 16) at 8PM.

 Filipino veteran and up-and-coming artists Jed Madela, Darren Espanto, Kyla, and Gwyneth Dorado will unite on the Gawad Urian stage to perform a special tribute dedicated to this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian recipient, Nora Aunor.

The 38th Gawad Urian also gets bigger as “Asia’s Got Talent” grand winner El Gamma Penumbra graces the awards night to showcase a phenomenal song and dance number. 

Aside from stunning performances, viewers will get to witness which among indie drama films “Dagitab,” “Barber’s Tales,” “Bwaya,” and “Mula Sa Kung Ano Ang Noon” will be the big winner as the following films have led this year’s nominations.

The race is tight as well in the major categories including Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, and Best Supporting Actress since the nominees have received rave reviews for their notable performances.

Hosted by Angelica Panganiban, Robi Domingo, and Butch Francisco, the 38th Gawad Urian will also feature Nova Villa, Angeli Bayani, and Sandino Martin as presenters of the show.

The Gawad Urian Awards is the most esteemed film awards in the Philippines The nominees and the winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) who are composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema.

“There is no distinction here between the mainstream and indie filmmakers. The MPP is evaluating the performances and achievements according to the highest standards in their particular fields. During show, the Manunuri also explains its criteria and why certain awardees have been chosen,” Mario Hernando, one of the members of the MPP said.

Aside from Hernando, the MPP members are Rolando Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, and Lito Zulueta.

For more information, visit Cinema One’s official Facebook page ( and the official website of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino ( (TV Series Craze)

Post a Comment