Aiza Seguerra's "Anong Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa" is the 2013 Himig Handog P-Pop Love Songs Winner!

The song “Ano’ng Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa” written by Jovinor Tan of Malabon City and interpreted by Aiza Seguerra won first place in the country’s largest multimedia songwriting competition, “Himig Handog” with the theme, “Pinoy Pop (P-POP) Love Songs: Mga Awit at Kwento ng Pusong Pilipino” from ABS-CBN and Star Records.

The concert held last night at the SM MOA Arena featured the performances of the country’s finest OPM artists who served as interpreters for the 12 finalists. The original compositions that received the top awards were the following: “Hanggang Wakas” performed by Juris Fernandez and written by Soc Villanueva placed second; “If You Ever Change Your Mind” performed and written by Marion Aunor placed third; “Scared to Death” sung by KZ Tandingan and written by Domingo Rosco Jr. placed fourth; and “Kahit Na” performed by Toni Gonzaga and written by Julius James de Belen placed fifth.

Meanwhile, screaming fans flocked to the stage while Daniel Padilla performed the song “Nasa Iyo Na Ang Lahat” written by Jungee Marcelo. The song won four out of five special awards including Star Records Buyer’s Choice, Tambayan 101.9 Listener’s Choice, MOR Listener’s Choice, and MYX Choice For Best Video produced by film students of Ateneo de Manila University. TFC’s Choice Award was received by the song “This Song’s For You” written by Jude Thaddeus Gitamondoc and performed by Erik Santos.

Other artists who performed last night include Yeng Constantino (“Alaala”), Angeline Quinto (“One Day”), Bugoy Drilon (“Pwede Bang Ako Na Lang Ulit”), Jovit Baldovino (“Sana’y Magbalik”), and Wynn Andrada (“Tamang Panahon”).

The night was made more special by performances of previous Himig Handog interpreters Bituin Escalante, Anna Fegi, and Martin Nievera. The finals night was under the direction of Mr. Johnny Manahan, with musical director Gerard Salonga together with the ABS-CBN Philharmonic Orchestra. Kapamilya artists Xian Lim, Matteo Guidicelli, Megan Young, and Kim Chiu served as the hosts.

The 5th year of the “Himig Handog” received 2,500 original compositions from Pinoy songwriters worldwide. ABS-CBN and Star Records set the stage for brilliant Filipino composers in time for the 60 years celebration of Philippine television.

The “Himig Handog P-Pop Love Songs” CD is now available in all record bars nationwide for only P250 and can also be downloaded on iTunes.(

Post a Comment