Kim Chiu, Coco Martin, and Kapamilya Network Dominate the Yahoo Celebrity Awards 2014

 ABS-CBN dominated this year’s Yahoo! Celebrity Awards as its celebrities and programs, which can be seen worldwide via premier network The Filipino Channel (TFC), took home the most number of awards at the ceremony, with Kim Chiu leading all this year’s winners.

Yahoo! Celebrity Awards, which determined its winners via online and Kakao Talk (smartphone application available in the Philippines through several partners including ABS-CBN Mobile) votes, named Chiu the Celebrity of the Year and Actress of the Year.  For the second year in a row, Chiu also accepted the Fan Club of the Year trophy for KimXi, the official fan club of her love team with Xian Lim, while their blockbuster hit “Bride for Rent” clinched the Movie of the Year award.

Vice Ganda was hailed as the Social Media Star of the Year, while his on-screen tandem and “It’s Showtime” co-host Karylle named ViceRylle was voted Love Team of the Year.

Top-rating primetime soap in the Philippines and one of the programs with the highest hits on TFC’s internet protocol television (IPTV) and online ( platforms, “Ikaw Lamang” won Teleserye of the Year, with its lead stars Coco Martin and Jake Cuenca earning Actor of the Year and Male Kontrabida (Villain) of the Year awards, respectively.

The fan-voted award-giving body also hailed Kris Aquino as the Female TV Host of the Year, Vhong Navarro as the Male TV Host of the Year, Julia Barretto as the Female Emerging Star, JC De Vera as the Male Emerging Star, and Andrea Brillantes as the Child Star of the Year.

“The Voice Kids” coaches Sarah Geronimo and Bamboo Mañalac were awarded Female and Male Performers of the Year while volleyball star and the Philippines newest sports channel ABS-CBN Sports + Action’s “Team U” host Gretchen Ho and MOR 101.9’s DJ Chacha bagged the Female Hothlete of the Year and Female DJ of the Year awards, respectively.

ABS-CBN’s flagship newscast and the first program aired on TFC’s syndicated service, “TV Patrol,” anchored by Kabayan Noli De Castro, Ted Failon, and Korina Sanchez, once again topped the poll for the News Program of the Year.

Yahoo! Celebrity Awards, formerly known as the Yahoo! OMG Awards, is one of the biggest fan-driven award-giving bodies in the country and recognizes the most popular celebrities and programs in music, film, radio, and television.

All of this year’s award-winning ABS-CBN shows are also seen and heard worldwide via TFC’s IPTV, satellite, cable, mobile and online ( platforms.  Connect with fellow global Filipinos worldwide, visit or follow @KapamilyaTFC on twitter and instagram for updates.  (

Follow Us on Instagram: @rockenroll_04
Follow Us on Twitter: @rockenroll_04

Post a Comment